I must apologize for being such an absolute geek

but i just feel like sharing my other favourite poems, simple verses which had in some way or other, touched or inspired me. It seems boring, but do read them if you are free=)

《老 马》 臧克家
   
     总得叫大车装个够,它横竖不说一句话。 
     背上的压力往肉里扣,它把头沉重地垂下!
     这刻不知道下刻的命,它有泪只往心里咽。
     眼里飘来一道鞭影,它抬起头望望前面。

This poem uses an old tired horse as a metaphor for the ill-fated peasants in 1930s China. How these unfortunate souls could only, like a battered horse, accept whatever fate deals them with, how they have to grudgingly choke on and swallow their woes, how their heads can never be held high under the immense burden of suffering, and how for them…there will be no light at the end of the doomed gloomy tunnel.  Beautiful. I remembered putting a melody to 老 马 (and I can still remember the tune) to help me memorize it and if i was in a certain mood, my self-composed ditty could make me tear. Haha, silly i know.

And now for one in English. Written by Daniel Day Lewis’s father, for his other son Sean. I love this poem- it is true, you know, how sometimes love is proved in the letting go. What a gift it must be, to be able to capture the nuances of life, so neatly, in such unembellished language.

Walking Away

Cecil Day Lewis

For Sean

It is eighteen years ago, almost to the day –

A sunny day with the leaves just turning,

The touch-lines new-ruled – since I watched you play

Your first game of football, then, like a satellite

Wrenched from its orbit, go drifting away

 

Behind a scatter of boys. I can see

You walking away from me towards the school

With the pathos of a half-fledged thing set free

Into a wilderness, the gait of one

Who finds no path where the path should be.

 

That hesitant figure, eddying away

Like winged seed loosened from its parent stem,

Has something I never quite grasp to convey

About nature’s give-and-take – the small, the scorching

Ordeals which fire one’s irresolute clay.

 

I have had worse partings, but none that so

Gnaws at my mind still. Perhaps it is roughly

Saying what God alone could perfectly show –

How selfhood begins with a walking away,

And love is proved in the letting go.

3 responses to “I must apologize for being such an absolute geek

  1. Hey gurl..
    i enjoyed them=)

  2. i almost forgot about 老马! It was in our C Lit right? Very unlike you to quote Chinese poems. Hehe.
    We had 老马 in sec school, and then in LEP we learnt about 死马当活马医. Sometimes i do miss literature.

  3. aserendipitiouslife

    yx- good that u enjoyed them!
    wee- heee…i am very cheena one oki! yup..i lurved lao ma…will share some more to shock u in future hahahaa…..

Leave a Reply

